It’s a bird – it’s a plane – it’s bigger than anything you’ve ever seen before! It’s NKOTBSB, a boy band supergroup comprised of all the members of New Kids on the Block and the Backstreet Boys. That’s right – it’s time to channel your inner teeny-bopper and get excited!

Joey McIntyre, A.J. McLean, Jordan Knight, Howie Dorough, Jonathan Knight, Donnie Wahlberg, Brian Littrell, Danny Wood and Nick Carter came together at the 2010 American Music Awards and performed a medley of both groups’ hits to get people excited for their upcoming summer tour together. It certainly worked – and rumors started swirling about the possibility of a combined studio effort.

Those rumors came true in December 2010, when, during the Backstreet Boys Cruise, McLean and Littrell gave their sea-faring fans a quick listen to a sample of “Don’t Turn Out the Lights,” the first single from the supergroup.

Now fully released, “Don’t Turn Out the Lights” is a catchy dance tune that life-long New Kids on the Block and Backstreet Boys fans will recognize as true to the bands’ roots and that youngsters will enjoy for its smooth, Jason Derulo-type styling.

This single is the first off NKOTBSB’s debut album which is slated to drop on May 24, with the tour beginning one day later on May 25. The bands are currently going through rehearsals for the summer-long effort. The guys will be performing hits from both bands’ as well as all their new songs. Jordan Knight explains, “It’s going to be nonstop back-and-forth action. We’re really going to play off each other.”

Whatever NKOTBSB has in store for the tour, it’s certain that what’s turning out to be one of the most talked about musical pairings of the year will be energetic, fun-filled and full of screaming.

For more info on tour dates and to keep up with all the NKOTBSB news, be sure to check out the website, www.nkotbsb.com.

You can preview and purchase NKOTBSB’s new single, “Don’t Turn Off the Lights,” here.