About Toria

ToriaPhotoStrip2

Hey there, it’s Toria! Thanks for stopping by!

I was born in Cincinnati! But I was raised in Lawrenceburg, Indiana. I have an older brother, Sam, and a younger sister, Ariana. My mom and dad are my biggest fans lol. My mom and my sister are my best friends, my mom and I literally talk 6 times a day! My husband, Jon, and I built a house a few years ago and we are expecting our first child! We also have 2 cats (boys), Zeppelin and Arrow and one French bulldog (girl), Bean!

I started at Hubbard Radio working behind the scenes in the spring of 2012 while in college at Northern Kentucky University! In the summer of 2013, I stepped away to finish out my education with a 3-month internship in LA. I worked for James Franco’s production company. I learned so much, met so many people and even got to hold an Emmy in my hands! I came back to Hubbard once I got back into town and have been here ever since!

For the past 5 years, I’ve lived in Northern Kentucky. You may see on my Instagram (@ToriaCannon) that I am obsessed with my neighbors. We got VERY lucky to be surrounded by such good, fun people. I’ve had food, booze, baby items, etc. left on my doorstep. Find yourself some neighbors like ours lol

My husband Jon always says: “You are your dad.” My dad is a very go-with-the-flow kind of guy. I don’t think I have ever seen him stressed in my life. Let me tell you, this can be a blessing, but also a curse because sometimes I feel like I should care more about certain situations than I do. But, hey, I always say I create the balance in my relationships: whether it’s my marriage or with friendships. I have a very small, core group of best friends (literally 4 and two of them are my mom & sister lol) I love it that way, they know everything about me, and I them, and they’re the most loyal girls you could ask for.

ToriaPhotoStrip1

Things I Love: Food! I love cooking and trying new recipes, but also love a good sit-down restaurant with a good appetizer and cocktail! Clothes! I used to spend more time putting outfits together, and I have definitely slacked off, but I really do love putting an outfit together and then *BAM* feeling like a million bucks! Singing! I’ve sang my entire life! I used to have a Christmas band—Toria and the Eggnoggins—and we would perform ONLY Christmas songs at different charitable events around the Tri-State. Life happened (and a pandemic) and the Eggnoggins took a back seat (for now, you never know what the future holds). Traveling! I don’t do it as much as I would like too, but when I do get some time away, it’s the best medicine for your soul.

My Quirks: I am very OCD about certain things. I have different routines before I go to bed with locking my house doors (which also stems from one of our doors being blown open and my cat getting outside at 2am lol) I am terrible at interior design, just ask my husband how many lights he’s had to take down, put up or how many things I’ve purchased and then had to sell online lol. I put ketchup on my Skyline 3-way and grape jelly on my grilled cheese (bring on the judgment, but don’t knock it until you try it.)

A Few Things I Want To Do Before I Die: I want to travel to Ireland, I’ve always thought it was so beautiful, and I just really want to drink in a true Irish pub there. Try food featured off Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives (that’s not in Cincinnati). Learn how to play the piano. I tried guitar, and it was not for me! And raise children that are kind to everyone, open-minded and funny (I mean smart, too, but their momma is funny, so they have to be too lol)

Why I Chose Radio as a Career: I was always a performer as a kid, whether it was singing, dancing or making pretend commercials about my toothpaste in the bathroom, so I knew I wanted to work in the entertainment industry. I started taking broadcasting classes in high school and carried it through my college career with a major of Electronic, Media and Broadcasting and a minor in Journalism.

Thanks for taking time out of your day to learn a little about me! Find me on Facebook: Toria with Traffic.

-Toria

Email Toria at toria@hbi.com

What's in my hospital bag?

It’s crazy to think how soon it might be until I’m headed to The Christ Hospital for delivery! Here’s what I’m packing in my hospital bag. What was the must-have...

Pregnant during a pandemic?

Do you have questions about COVID-19 and pregnancy? I had a few for Morgan Salomon, MD, OBGYN, of The Christ Hospital. We sat down and chatted about the light at...